Movie Review: Ghost In The Shell 2017

Plot: In the near future, Major is the first of her kind: A human who is cyber-enhanced to be a perfect soldier devoted to stopping the world’s most dangerous criminals. 

My thoughts: First of all, I have to admit that I am a huge fan of the original Ghost in the Shell anime from 1995. I first saw it when I was thirteen years old, and it blew me away completely! So going into seeing this film, I have to say I was expecting it to break my heart. But luckily, I was happily surprised. The storyline, although different from the original, was full of depth and gave the Majors character a back story that was rather intriguing. The “villain” of the movie, was brilliantly acted and really kept me captivated and wanting to know more. Scarlet Johansson did a wonderful job at acting the Major (I was never a big critic on this though, as after seeing her in ‘Under The Skin’, I knew she could pull this sort of role off fabulously!) As for the other actors in this film, woah. They were all cast amazingly. I especially have to give props to Pilou Asbeek, who starred as Batou. I’m hoping to see him in many more films to come!

The scenes that were recreated in this film from the original, were done with a lot respect for the material. I actually found myself with a big grin on my face as I saw the scene of the Major being created. Visually, it’s a really stunning film! Although I have to say one negative I found was that there were two scenes in particular where the CGI in this film was rather awful and took away from the immersion. 

If you’re a fan of the original, I would say go into this film with your thoughts at the back of your head and try to enjoy this film as if it’s brand new. Otherwise it can cloud your judgement and lead to disappointment. If you haven’t seen the original, I think it’s a great film definitely worth checking out! 

And also, please go watch the original anime if you haven’t already, you won’t be disappointed in the slightest, ha-ha. 

Leave a Reply

